In with the old, out with the new!

Hi again everyone.  As you’ve probably noticed, I have not been updating as often as I have been in the past.  Trust me, it’s not the way I want it.  I’ve been experiencing a lot of changes in my life including trying to buy a house with my parents, trying to excel in school, and having an almost-full-time job with most weekends taken up.  As always, I am struggling to maintain my finances, and over spending in some areas.  It’s really hard to balance necessary expenses with frivolous ones.  While I am still not buying clothing, I am spending on things I don’t necessarily need because I am stressed.

But that is not what I want to write about today!  So, I did write a previous article about how I have an ancient pair of jeans that have ripped themselves to shreds.  Well, it seems like all of my other favorite jeans are following suit.  In the last three weeks, two more pairs have decided my butt is much too big for their liking.  This is quite a dilemma paired with my promise to not buy any more clothes.  While I do have a few more pairs of jeans, they are the more uncomfortable, tight-fitting, or more expensive ones I don’t wear as often.  I have been making it work (eating less and sweatpants…), but I have devised a plan that might actually work.  It simply involves dusting off my sewing machine.

I harbor a lot of fear around using my sewing machine.  I got it not too long ago, but have only used it a couple of times.  For lack of proper space to have it out, I put it away when I’m done using it and have a hard time convincing myself to take it back out.  It currently sits on my book shelf collecting dust.  The main reason I don’t use it more often is because I am afraid of messing something up.  This is an issue that has pervaded my existence all of my life.  Fear of failure.  I fully acknowledge that there are no grounds for the basis of my fears, but there you have it.  I have been perfectly good at doing all of the projects I have attempted in the past, but I still worry that I will fail.

That fear aside, I have decided I really want more pants.  Without buying any, how is this possible?  Well, I have about 4 or 5 pairs of jeans from the time I was severely overweight.  I also have several nice blouses that hang on me like garbage bags.  The brilliant idea came to me to hem and sew up these garments to fit me.  From what I have learned, it is a fairly easy process and should not be difficult for me to pick up.  So what’s stopping me from doing it?  Nothing, really.  More updates to come!

Leave a Reply

