Day something-something…

So it’s been over a month! Woohoo!

I cannot tell you how quickly this no clothes shopping thing is actually going! One month down! It’s remarkable. It’s probably because I went on a clothes binge right before my abstinence and now have plenty of things to wear for the summer (I know, I am still ashamed). 

Anyway, as most recovering addicts will tell you (hehe), it gets easier and easier the more you resist engaging in harmful behaviors. I really think the same applies for my “addiction” to clothes shopping. I don’t even think about it, really. Except for the other day driving by a cute second hand boutique the CUTEST dresses were on display outside and I almost ALMOST pulled over “just to look, I promise!” Luckily, my boyfriend was driving and he knows about my self-promise, and like any good boyfriend would do, kept on driving.

I have, however, made a few extraneous purchases I could probably have gone without…

I went to Vermont over the weekend with some girlfriends, one of whom owns a summer house there. It was absolutely beautiful, and my dogs had a total blast, but I spent quite a bit of money on gas and souvenirs.  Mostly gas.  Thank goodness my car gets good mileage, otherwise I would really be in trouble.  But even the amount I have gone through this last month tells me I need to slow it down.

I hate being restricted based off of my income.  I want to live my life spontaneously and be able to drive up to Vermont at a moment’s notice because it is super fun, and not have to worry about conserving gas.  I guess a lot of people can relate to that, but I really want to do something about it. As it is, I am still spending more money than I am making – I really don’t make all that much (darn taxes…). 

So now I am brainstorming ways I can earn some extra income while I start getting ready to go back to school and hopefully move into a bigger apartment. I’ll keep y’all posted on some good ideas I’ve come up with!

Stay tuned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

