Day four

I’m four days into my official commitment to forgo clothes/necessity shopping for six months.  That’s quite a bit of time to have to think about what I’ve gotten myself into.  It’s also plenty of time to think about what the “rules” – so to speak – are. 

I bought a book yesterday.  It was not a text book, nor one I need for work.  It was a gift for my dad for Father’s Day.  I did not plan on buying it, but knew right away it would mean a lot to my dad when he opened it.  So there’s the dilemma.  I didn’t even think about it at the time, but now that I recall the purchase in the context of my commitment, I am second guessing its validity.  Is it really a necessity, as I stated in my first entry?  It’s not for me, though, so does that make it ok? 

I’m still trying to figure out how I feel about this.  It would be just as meaningful to make my dad something rather than buy him a stack of paper glued together with a bit of ink on it.  But it was not my initial intent to cut out gifts and extraneous purchases from my budget.  It is worth some evaluation.  I think I will send the book, but think twice before purchasing a gift for someone in the future.  It will be tough, since I pride myself on my ability to pick gifts I think people will really dig, but I normally buy the gift.  Maybe I will make an amendment to this whole thing – no extraneous purchases if I can make them myself. 

Ugh, this is hard. 

Leave a Reply

